Evgeny Pokhilko's Weblog

Programmer's den

Remote desktop via VPN from SUSE 11.1


I needed to work at weekends and connected to my machine at work. VPN + Remote Desktop

I used this guide to install VPN:

http://pmhaddad.wordpress.com/2009/03/15/step-by-step-guide-to-setting-up-a-windows-pptp-vpn-client-in-ubuntu-810/

“sudo apt-get install network-manager-pptp” didn’t work in suse. I had to find the rpm packages. There were two I had to install:

NetworkManager-pptp-0.7.0.r4274-2.9.i586.rpm

NetworkManager-pptp-gnome-0.7.0.r4274-2.9.i586.rpm

I installed them running one command:

rpm -ivh <package1> <package2>

Then I installed rdesktop. I connect from command prompt:

rdesktop <full DNS address> -f

-f switch is full screen

There is another switch for setting the resolution:

-g 1024×768

May 30, 2009 - Posted by | Networking, SUSE | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

